Ansible Collections – More clarity and easier sharing in Ansible

Ansible is the fastest-growing configuration management tool these days. This has also created a steadily growing community. Due to the simple architecture and the resulting easy extensibility, more and more companies and private persons provide their roles, modules and playbooks for their products and projects.

The Ansible Core project now has a four-digit number of open pull requests and issues on Github. This has become confusing, not only from Red Hat’s perspective.

For more common uses of Ansible – for example, installing the Docker Daemons or the apache web server – Red Hat created Ansible Galaxy some time ago: A place where members of the community provide generic roles for free use. Thus the wheel does not have to be reinvented every time. The community develops not only roles but also modules and other plugins for sometimes very special cases. To provide more structure and better community participation in the Ansible Project, Red Hat has created Ansible Collections: These are product or project-specific collections of playbooks, roles, modules, and plug-ins. As before, these roles are provided via the Ansible Galaxy. The introduction of collections gives companies or projects more control over the Ansible Code they provide themselves. This allows you to bring your own modules or plugins upstream faster: the pull requests are less likely to slip down the list or be forgotten. Once merged, you no longer have to wait for the next release of Ansible, but can simply include the latest version of your collection. At the same time, the Ansible Galaxy maintains the visibility of the collection. Red Hat has taken the first step in this direction by creating collections of projects. These are also maintained by official bodies. These include Ansible Tower, Amazon AWS, and Red Hat Satellite. The Ansible Modules, which we use and actively develop for our orcharhino are now also available as a collection.

Application

The handling is similar to that of the roles in the Ansible Galaxy. A collection is installed either via command line:

ansible-galaxy collection install my_namespace.my_collection:1.0.0

or, if you want to install several at once, via a requirements file:

---
collections:
# With just the collection name
- my_namespace.my_collection

# With the collection name, version, and source options
- name: my_namespace.my_other_collection
 version: 1.0.3 # version range identifiers (default: ``*``)
 source: https://galaxy.ansible.com # The Galaxy URL to pull the collection from (default: ``--api-server`` from cmdline)
...

Once the collection is installed, the modules, roles and plugins it contains can be easily integrated:

---
- hosts: all
 tasks:
 - import_role:
 name: my_namespace.my_collection.role1

 - my_namespace.mycollection.mymodule:
 option1: value

 - debug:
 msg: '{{ lookup("my_namespace.my_collection.lookup1", 'param1')| my_namespace.my_collection.filter1 }}'
...

To avoid getting your fingers sore, you can import the collection completely at the beginning of the game and then use all modules and roles (but not filters and lookup plugins!):

---
- hosts: all
 collections:
 - my_namespace.my_collection
 tasks:
 - import_role:
 name: role1

 - mymodule:
 option1: value

 - debug:
 msg: '{{ lookup("my_namespace.my_collection.lookup1", 'param1')| my_namespace.my_collection.filter1 }}'
...

Source of the code examples

In addition to the modules and plug-ins officially supported and maintained by Red Hat, the previous Ansible versions (≤2.9) also contain a large number of plug-ins and modules maintained by the community. With Ansible 2.10 all the community maintained content is separated into a community.general Collection. Ansible’s premise has always been “batteries included”, i.e. nothing needs to be installed after installing Ansible. The default installation of Ansible 2.10 still contains the > 3000 modules and plugins, so most playbooks with the upgrade to 2.10 probably require only minor changes. So this premise is still correct. The big changes happen with 2.10 under the hood. Therefore they will appear gradually as the community provides more and more collections.

To learn more about the use and creation of Ansible Collections, attend our Ansible Trainings. There will also be an Advanced Ansible Workshop at our OSAD, where we will go into collections in more detail.

The following two tabs change content below.

ATIX-Crew

Der ATIX-Crew gehören Mitglieder aus den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen an. Neben Consultants und Entwicklern schließt sie auch die Kollegen aus dem Support sowie aus Vertrieb und Marketing mit ein.

Latest posts by ATIX-Crew (see all)

This post is also available in: German

Ansible Collections – Mehr Übersichtlichkeit und einfachere Teilhabe bei Ansible

Ansible ist dieser Tage das am schnellsten wachsende Konfigurationsmanagementtool. Dadurch ist auch eine stetig wachsende Community entstanden. Aufgrund der simplen Architektur und der dadurch einfachen Erweiterbarkeit stellen immer mehr Unternehmen und Privatpersonen ihre Rollen, Module und Playbooks für ihre Produkte und Projekte bereit.  

Das Ansible Core Projekt hat auf Github mittlerweile eine vierstellige Anzahl an offenen Pull Requests und Issues. Das ist nicht nur aus Sicht Red Hats mittlerweile unübersichtlich..

Für geläufigere Anwendungsfälle von Ansible – zum Beispiel die Installation des Docker Daemons oder des apache-Webservers – hat Red Hat vor einiger Zeit die Ansible Galaxy erschaffen: Ein Ort, an dem Mitglieder der Community generische Rollen für die freie Nutzung zur Verfügung stellen. Somit muss das Rad nicht jedes Mal neu erfunden werden. Die Community entwickelt aber nicht nur Rollen, sondern auch Module und weitere Plugins für teilweise sehr spezielle Fälle. Um mehr Struktur und eine bessere Teilhabemöglichkeit der Community im Ansible Projekt zu gewährleisten, hat Red Hat Ansible Collections geschaffen: Das sind Produkt- bzw. projektspezifische Sammlungen von Playbooks, Rollen, Modulen und Plugins. Diese werden wie bisher Rollen über die Ansible Galaxy bereitgestellt. Die Einführung von Collections ermöglicht Unternehmen oder Projekten mehr Kontrolle über den selbst bereitgestellten Ansible Code. Dadurch können die eigenen Module oder Plugins schneller Upstream gebracht werden: die Pull Requests laufen weniger Gefahr nach unten in der Liste abzurutschen oder in Vergessenheit zu geraten. Sind sie einmal gemerged, muss man nicht mehr den nächsten Release von Ansible abwarten, sondern kann einfach die neueste Version seiner Collection einbinden. Gleichzeitig bleibt durch die Ansible Galaxy die Sichtbarkeit der Collection erhalten. Red Hat hat den ersten Schritt in die Richtung gemacht und zu einer Reihe von Projekten Collections erstellt. Diese werden auch von offizieller Seite gewartet. Dazu zählen u.a. Ansible Tower, Amazon AWS und Red Hat Satellite. Die Ansible Module, die wir für unseren orcharhino verwenden und aktiv weiterentwickeln sind mittlerweile auch als Collection verfügbar.

Verwendung

Die Handhabe ist ähnlich zu denen der Rollen in der Ansible Galaxy. Installiert wird eine Collection entweder via Kommandozeile:

ansible-galaxy collection install my_namespace.my_collection:1.0.0

oder, wenn man mehrere auf einmal installieren will über eine requirements-Datei:

---
collections:
# With just the collection name
- my_namespace.my_collection

# With the collection name, version, and source options
- name: my_namespace.my_other_collection
 version: 1.0.3 # version range identifiers (default: ``*``)
 source: https://galaxy.ansible.com # The Galaxy URL to pull the collection from (default: ``--api-server`` from cmdline)
...

Ist die Collection einmal installiert können die darin enthaltenen Module, Rollen und Plugins ganz einfach eingebunden werden:

---
- hosts: all
 tasks:
 - import_role:
 name: my_namespace.my_collection.role1

 - my_namespace.mycollection.mymodule:
 option1: value

 - debug:
 msg: '{{ lookup("my_namespace.my_collection.lookup1", 'param1')| my_namespace.my_collection.filter1 }}'
...

Um sich nicht die Finger wund zu tippen kann man die Collection am Anfang des Plays auch einfach komplett importieren und dann alle darin enthaltenen Module und Rollen (nicht jedoch Filter und Lookup-Plugins!) verwenden:

---
- hosts: all
 collections:
 - my_namespace.my_collection
 tasks:
 - import_role:
 name: role1

 - mymodule:
 option1: value

 - debug:
 msg: '{{ lookup("my_namespace.my_collection.lookup1", 'param1')| my_namespace.my_collection.filter1 }}'
...

Quelle der Codebeispiele

Die bisherigen Ansible Versionen (≤2.9) enthalten zusätzlich zu den von Red Hat offiziell unterstützten sowie gepflegten Modulen und Plugins auch eine Vielzahl von der Community gepflegter Plugins und Modulen. Mit Ansible 2.10 werden all die Community-gepflegten Inhalte in eine community.general Collection ausgegliedert. Ansibles Prämisse war bisher immer “batteries included”, d.h. dass nach der Installation von Ansible nichts mehr nachinstalliert werden muss. Die Standardinstallation von Ansible 2.10 enthält weiterhin die >3000 Module und Plugins, sodass die meisten Playbooks mit dem Upgrade auf 2.10 wahrscheinlich nur kleinerer Änderungen bedürfen. So stimmt diese Prämisse weiterhin. Die großen Veränderungen passieren mit 2.10 unter der Haube. Daher werden sie nach und nach in Erscheinung treten, sobald die Community immer mehr Collections bereitstellt.

Mehr über die Verwendung und das Erstellen von Ansible Collections erfahfen Sie in unseren Ansible Trainings. Auch an unserem OSAD wird es einen Advanced Ansible Workshop geben, in dem wir auf Collections näher eingehen werden.

The following two tabs change content below.
ATIX-Crew

ATIX-Crew

Der ATIX-Crew gehören Mitglieder aus den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen an. Neben Consultants und Entwicklern schließt sie auch die Kollegen aus dem Support sowie aus Vertrieb und Marketing mit ein.

This post is also available in: English