Container Technology at IT-DLZ

At OSAD 2021, Matthias Kanzog from IT-DLZ Bayern gave an insight into the container technology used.

“In order to be able to deploy applications faster and more flexible in the future while ensuring data security, the IT-DLZ decided to set up its own container operation.” This is Matthias’ answer to the “crucial question” about agility and flexibility in public authorities.

The customers of the IT-DLZ, for example ministries and the state chancellery, can choose between several usage scenarios. They can purely use the container infrastructure, the complete container infrastructure and provided applications, or mixed forms. Rancher is used as the basis for container operation as an orchestration platform.

The IT-DLZ is also responsible for specifying best practices and minimum requirements for containerized applications. Security is paramount, because it involves citizens’ highly personal data.

Currently, several Kubernetes clusters based on Rancher are in operation, which are deployed using Ansible. Harbor is used as the image registry, with the advantage that the Clair and Trivy vulnerability scanners are already integrated.

Quite new is the switch from scripts with kubectl commands to automated deployments using pipelines in ArgoCD. With this, the IT-DLZ is taking a further step towards automating its IT infrastructure.

Finally, the constant evolution and change of the Kubernetes ecosystem was cited as an ongoing challenge. Likewise, organizational changes and adaptations of existing processes and responsibilities to the new framework conditions of container technology are necessary, which can be summarized under the keyword ‘DevOps’.

We would like to thank Matthias for his presentation at OSAD 2021. If you’d like to learn more about Matthias’ talk, you can find his slides and talk via our OSAD 2021 website.

The following two tabs change content below.

Maximilian Kolb

Technical Content Creator at ATIX

Latest posts by Maximilian Kolb (see all)

This post is also available in: German

Container Technologie beim IT-DLZ

Zur OSAD 2021 hat Matthias Kanzog vom IT-DLZ Bayern einen Einblick zur genutzten Container-Technologie gegeben.

„Um Anwendungen zukünftig schneller und flexibler bereitstellen zu können und gleichzeitig die Sicherheit der Daten zu gewährleisten, hat sich das IT-DLZ dazu entschieden, einen eigenen Container-Betrieb aufzubauen.“ Dies ist Matthias‘ Antwort auf die „Gretchenfrage“ wie es denn um Agilität und Flexibilität bei Behörden bestellt ist.

Die Kunden des IT-DLZ, also beispielsweise Ministerien und die Staatskanzlei, können zwischen mehreren Nutzungsszenarien wählen. Es kann rein die Containerinfrastruktur genutzt werden, komplett die Containerinfrastruktur und Applikationen, oder Mischformen. Als Basis für den Container-Betrieb wird als Orchestrierungsplattform Rancher genutzt.

Aufgabe des IT-DLZ ist auch die Vorgabe von Best-Practices und Mindestanforderungen an containerisierte Applikationen. Sicherheit steht im Vordergrund, denn es geht um höchst-persönliche Daten der Bürgerinnen und Bürger.

Derzeit sind mehrere Kubernetes Cluster auf Basis von Rancher in Betrieb, welche mit Hilfe von Ansible bereitgestellt werden. Als Image Registry wird Harbor genutzt, mit dem Vorteil, dass die Schwachstellenscanner Clair und Trivy bereits integriert sind.

Ganz neu ist die Umstellung von Skripten mit kubectl Befehlen auf das automatisierte Deployment mit Hilfe von Pipelines in ArgoCD. Damit geht das IT-DLZ einen weiteren Schritt zur Automatisierung ihrer IT Infrastruktur.

Abschließend wurde die stetige Evolution und Veränderung des Kubernetes-Ökosystem als andauernde Herausforderung genannt. Ebenso sind organisatorische Änderungen und Anpassungen der bestehenden Prozesse und Verantwortlichkeiten an die neuen Rahmenbedingungen der Container-Technologie notwendig, was unter dem Stichwort ‚DevOps‘ zusammengefasst werden kann.

Wir bedanken uns herzlich bei Matthias für den Vortrag beim OSAD 2021. Wenn Sie mehr zu dem Vortrag von Matthias erfahren möchten, finden Sie seine Folien und das über unsere OSAD 2021 Webseite.

The following two tabs change content below.

Maximilian Kolb

Technical Content Creator at ATIX

Neueste Artikel von Maximilian Kolb (alle ansehen)

This post is also available in: English