Ansible Automation Platform

Ansible is known to be one of the most widely used automation tools. This is certainly also due to the relatively simple setup and use. Especially in very large environments, i.e. with a large number of users, a pure CLI setup quickly reaches its limits: Multi-tenancy, credential management, scheduling are just some of the points that require a very close look.

Possible solutions come in different sizes and levels of complexity: From pure CI/CD approaches with Jenkins GitLab CI/CD, to integrated management in Foreman variants, such as orcharhino, to the Automation Platform, RedHat’s own solution.

In this blog post, we will outline the basic architecture and functionality of the Ansible Automation Platform. Basically, the idea is always to split Ansible content and the executing layer as seen here:

The executing layer here is the Ansible Automation Controller. This is based on the Open-Source Project AWX.

AWX/Automation Controller

Basically, AWX and Automation Controller are identical, only the latter is the Enterprise compatible downstream variant. Internally, AWX initially uses two components: ansible-runner, as well as Ansible execution environments.

ansible-runner is an open source Python library that simplifies the automated execution of playbooks compared to the use of ansible-playbook. On the one hand, a process isolation and parallelization of playbook runs can be achieved, on the other hand, ansible-runner provides a much more usable output than the standard ansible-playbook call. Simply speaking, ansible-runner is nothing but a runtime execution for Ansible.

In order to execute Ansible jobs consistently regardless of their environment, there are also so-called Ansible Execution Environments: These are nothing more than OCI-compatible container images within which a playbook with all dependencies can be executed.

To do this, Ansible-Collections, python libraries and Ansible-Base are merged into one container. Ideally, the open source tool ansible-builder should be used. A final execution environment then has the following form:

Execution environments can then be used in AWX using ansible-runner.

Private Automation HUB aka Private Galaxy

AWX comes with pre-built execution environments. However, if you want to create and use your own Execution Environments, the question arises as to where they should ideally be stored. In principle, any OCI-compatible container registry is initially suitable.

However, if you want to kill several birds with one stone, you can consider your own Galaxy installation. Every Ansible user stumbles across the official Ansible Galaxy at one point or another, as it is the central community hub for Ansible content of all kinds. The Ansible Automation Platform Enterprise product provides with Private Automation Hub the possibility to do an on-premises installation of Ansible Galaxy and thus manage your own content.

But also non-enterprise customers can benefit from such an on-premises installation. Private Automation Hub is also based on an open source project – in this case it is Pulp. You may already be familiar with Pulp as the backend component of Katello – in the orcharhino/Foreman/Satellite environment. You can find the installation procedure of the pure open source variant on GitHub or on YouTube.

Whether Enterprise Private Automation Hub or Open Source Galaxy, in the end the component can manage execution environments as well as its own Ansible Collections. AWX nodes can then pull this content when running playbooks.

Automation Mesh

AWX/Automation Controller can also be clustered to achieve high availability and higher parallelization. For this purpose, AWX introduces automation-mesh, which is based on the open source framework receptor.

This allows different nodes in an AWX cluster to take on different roles:

  • Controller nodes form the so-called control plane. These nodes take care of all management tasks, such as distributing jobs or syncing Ansible content with the source, which is usually the Git repository.
  • Execution Nodes can only execute Ansible jobs that have been assigned to them.
  • Hybrid nodes are – as the name suggests – both part of the control plane and execution nodes.

If the Automation Platform installation spans multiple networks, for example across DMZ boundaries, hop nodes can also be deployed. These serve only as forwarders in the receptor network. As shown in the picture, it is then sufficient to allow only the traffic to the hop node in the firewall.

The modular design and the use of automation controllers allow a very flexible deployment. Whether purely containerized in Kubernetes/OpenShift, as virtual machines, bare-metal or a mixture, there are hardly any limits to creativity.

Feel free to contact us to discuss or design your own use case. We are looking forward to your inquiry!

The following two tabs change content below.

Bernhard Hopfenmüller

Latest posts by Bernhard Hopfenmüller (see all)

Ansible Automation Platform

Ansible ist bekanntermaßen eines der meistverbreiteten Automation Tools. Zurückzuführen ist das sicherlich auch auf das relativ einfache Setup und die Benutzung. Gerade in sehr großen Umgebungen, also bei einer großen Userzahl, stößt man aber mit einem reinen CLI-Setup schnell an Grenzen: Mandantenfähigkeit, Credential-Verwaltung, Scheduling sind nur einige der Punkte,die ein sehr genaues Hinsehen erfordern.

Mögliche Lösungsansätze kommen in verschiedenen Größen und Komplexitätslevel: Von reinen CI/CD Ansätzen mit Jenkins GitLab CI/CD, über die integrierte Verwaltung in Foreman-Varianten, wie beispielsweise orcharhino bis hin zur Automation Platform, einer eigenen Lösung von RedHat.

In diesem Blog-Post wollen wir die grundlegende Architektur und Funktionsweise der Ansible Automation Platform skizzieren. Grundsätzlich ist die Idee immer eine Teilung von Ansible Content und der ausführenden Schicht wie hier zu sehen:

Die ausführende Schicht ist dabei der Ansible Automation Controller. Dieser basiert auf dem Open-Source Projekt AWX.

AWX/Automation Controller

Grundsätzlich sind AWX und Automation Controller identisch, nur ist letzterer die Enterprise kompatible Downstream Variante. Intern benutzt AWX zunächst zwei Komponenten: ansible-runner, sowie Ansible Execution-Environments.

ansible-runner ist eine Open Source Python-Library die das automatisierte Ausführen von Playbooks gegenüber der Benutzung von ansible-playbook deutlich vereinfacht.Einerseits lässt sich damit eine Prozessisolierung und Parallelisierung von playbook runs erreichen, andererseits liefert ansible-runner auch einen deutlich besser verwertbaren Output als der Standard ansible-playbook Aufruf. Einfach gesprochen ist ansible-runner nichts als eine Runtime Execution für Ansible.

Um Ansible Jobs unabhängig von ihrer Umgebung konsistent durchzuführen gibt es darüber hinaus sog. Ansible-Execution Environments: Dabei handelt es sich um nichts anderes als OCI-kompatibel Container Images, innerhalb derer ein Playbook mit allen Abhängigkeiten ausgeführt werden kann.

Dazu werden Ansible-Collections, python libraries und Ansible-Base in einem Container zusammengefügt. Idealerweise kann dafür das Open Source Tool ansible-builder genutzt werden. Ein finales Execution Environment hat dann folgende Form:

Execution Environments können dann in AWX mittels ansible-runner benutzt werden.

Private Automation HUB aka Private Galaxy

AWX kommt mit vorgefertigten Execution Environments. Will man aber eigene Execution Environments erstellen und verwenden, so stellt sich die Frage, wo diese idealerweise abgelegt werden. Prinzipiell bietet sich zunächst jede beliebige OCI-kompatible Container-Registry an.

Will man jedoch mehrere Fliegen mit einer Klappe schlagen, so kann man über eine eigene Galaxy Installation nachdenken. Über die offizelle Ansible-Galaxy stolpert jeder Ansible-User früher oder später, ist sie doch der zentrale Community Hub für Ansible Inhalte aller Art. Das Ansible Automation Platform Enterprise Produkt liefert mit Private Automation Hub die Möglichkeit eine on-premises Installation von Ansible Galaxy vorzunehmen und somit eigene Inhalte verwalten zu können.

Aber auch nicht-Enterprise Kunden können in den Genuss einer solchen on-premises Installation kommen. Auch Private Automation Hub basiert auf einem Open Source Projekt – in diesem Fall handelt es sich um Pulp. Pulp ist Ihnen vielleicht bereits als Backend Komponente von Katello – im orcharhino/Foreman/Satellite Umfeld bekannt. Den Installationsweg der reinen Open Source Variante finden Sie bei GitHub oder auf YouTube.

Ob nun Enterprise Private Automation Hub oder Open Source Galaxy, am Ende kann die Komponente dann sowohl Execution Environments, als auch eigene Ansible Collections verwalten. AWX Nodes können diese Inhalte dann bei der Ausführung von Playbooks ziehen.

Automation Mesh

AWX/Automation Controller lässt sich darüber hinaus clustern, sodass Hochverfügbarkeit und höhere Parallelisierung erreicht werden. Dazu führt AWX das automation-mesh ein, das auf dem Open Source Framework receptor basiert.

Damit können verschiedene Nodes in einem AWX Cluster verschiedene Rollen einnehmen:

  • Controller Nodes bilden die sogenannten Control Plane. Diese Nodes kümmern sich um alle Management Aufgaben, wie zum Beispiel die Verteilung von Jobs oder den Sync von Ansible Content mit der Quelle, also meistens dem Git Repository.
  • Execution Nodes können lediglich Ansible-Jobs ausführen, die ihnen zugewiesen wurden.
  • Hybrid-Nodes sind – wie der Name bereits andeutet – sowohl Teil der Control Plane, als auch Execution Nodes.

Falls die Automation Platform Installation über mehrere Netzwerke hinausreichen, zum Beispiel über DMZ Grenzen hinweg, können zudem Hop-Nodes deployed werden. Diese dienen im receptor-Netzwerk lediglich als Forwarder. Wie im Bild angedeutet reicht es dann in der Firewall lediglich den Traffic zur Hop-Node zuzulassen.

Die modulare Bauweise und die Ausführung mittels Automation Controller erlaubt final ein sehr flexibles Deployment. Egal ob rein containerisiert in Kubernetes/OpenShift, als virtuelle Maschinen, bare-metal oder eine Mischung, der Kreativität sind kaum Grenzen gesetzt.

Melden Sie sich gerne bei uns um Ihren eigenen Usecase zu diskutieren oder entwerfen. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfrage!

The following two tabs change content below.

Bernhard Hopfenmüller

Neueste Artikel von Bernhard Hopfenmüller (alle ansehen)

This post is also available in: English