Puppet

Puppet is a configuration management tool that follows a master slave principle. The desired state of a system is described in a declarative language. This allows administrators to determine the desired end state–not how to achieve it (impotence). The definitions for the managed systems lie in so-called manifestos on the Puppet Master.

An agent runs on the clients, which periodically asks the master’s desired condition and corrects deviations. Configuration drifts, for example, if users have made local changes and the system is no longer in the desired state, will be automatically corrected the next run of the agent. The range of possible commands ranges from generating and modifying individual files to managing user accounts and software packages to more complex tasks.

Manifestos and dynamic templates are written in Ruby or a syntax oriented towards Ruby and follow a strict class concept. Parameters for the manifestos are either stored in a database on the Puppet Master or dynamically queried by an External Node Classifier such as a Datacenter Inventory Management (DCIM) or a Configuration Management Database (CMDB).

Features

  • Client-based configuration management
  • Idempotence (the final state is described, not the way to go)
  • Prevents configuration drifts and secures compliance
  • Master only for Linux, agents for Linux, Windows, various UNIXe (macOS, * BSD, Solaris, AIX)
  • Central management of configurations
  • Reproducibility
  • Integrated into tools like orcharhino and Red Hat Satellite

How do we support You?

  • When planning configuration management with puppet
  • When It comes to implementation through Concept, PoC and Installation
  • By taking specific infrastructure requirements into account.
  • Automation of complete IT infrastructures with puppet
  • Training and workshops

Contact us!

Mark Hlawatschek
Mark HlawatschekCEO
Ingrid Harner
Ingrid HarnerHead of Sales

Name

This post is also available in: German

OpenSource
Datacenter-Open-Source
Training01
Tafel-leerimac-lifecycleiPhone-orcharhinomacbookCode

PUPPET

Puppet ist ein Konfigurationsmanagement-Tool, das einem Master-Slave-Prinzip folgt. Der gewünschte Zustand eines Systems wird in einer deklarativen Sprache beschrieben. Damit legen Administratoren den gewünschten Endzustand fest — nicht wie dieser zu erreichen ist (Idempotenz). Die Definitionen für die verwalteten Systeme liegen in sogenannten Manifesten auf dem Puppet Master.

Auf den Clients läuft ein Agent, der in regelmäßigen Abständen beim Master den gewünschten Zustand erfragt und Abweichungen korrigiert. Configuration Drifts, wenn beispielsweise Nutzer lokale Änderungen vorgenommen haben und das System somit nicht mehr im gewünschten Zustand ist, werden beim nächsten Lauf des Agents automatisch korrigiert. Die Bandbreite der möglichen Kommandos reicht vom Erzeugen und Modifizieren einzelner Dateien über das Verwalten von Nutzeraccounts und Softwarepaketen zu komplexeren Aufgaben.

Manifeste und dynamische Dateivorlagen (Templates) werden in Ruby bzw. einer an Ruby orientierten Syntax verfasst und folgen einem strengen Klassenkonzept. Parameter für die Manifeste werden entweder in einer Datenbank auf dem Puppet Master vorgehalten oder dynamisch von einem External Node Classifier wie einem Datacenter Inventory Management (DCIM) oder einer Configuration Management Database (CMDB) abgefragt.

 

Features

  • Clientbasiertes Konfigurationsmanagement
  • Idempotenz (der Endzustand wird beschrieben, nicht der Weg dorthin)
  • Verhindert Configuration Drifts und sichert so Compliance
  • Master nur für Linux, Agents für Linux, Windows, diverse UNIXe (macOS, *BSD, Solaris, AIX)
  • Zentrale Verwaltung der Konfigurationen
  • Reproduzierbarkeit
  • Integrierbar in Tools wie orcharhino und Red Hat Satellite

Wie unterstützen wir Sie?

  • Beim Planen der Konfigurationsverwaltung mit Puppet
  • Bei der Umsetzung durch Konzept, PoC und Installation
  • Durch die Berücksichtigung spezieller Anforderungen an die Infrastruktur.
  • Automatisierung von kompletten IT-Infrastrukturen mit Puppet
  • Trainings, Schulungen und Workshops

Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Mark Hlawatschek
Mark HlawatschekVorstand
Ingrid Harner
Ingrid HarnerHead of Marketing & Sales

This post is also available in: Englisch