Puppet for Windows Training

Prerequisites

  • Programmatic approach to Windows system administration:
    – PowerShell
    – Desired State Configurations (is recommended)
    – Edit Registry
  • Experience with software development processes is recommended

Puppet for Windows – Fast Track

In our Puppet training for Windows administrators, participants learn the basics of the configuration management tool Puppet, test the way it works under Windows and learn about the special features of using it under Windows.

Puppet for Windows – Extended

In our Puppet for Windows Extended training, participants are taught the contents of the Fast Track training, but the additional day allows them to provide more detail on the content, as well as more individually and in detail to the (additional) questions and issues of the participants.

Content

  • The participants get to know the following:
  • Configuration management in a master client infrastructure
  • Puppet syntax and resources
  • Using the tools git, pdk and VS Code
  • Windows-specific puppet resources
  • advanced language concepts

Price

1.290,- € plus. legal VAT

Price

€1,890 plus legal VAT

Dates

Thursday 19.03.2020 – Friday 20.03.2020

Monday 11.05.2020 – Tuesday 12.05.2020

Monday 14.09.2020 – Tuesday 15.09.2020

Monday 30.11.2020 – Tuesday 01.12.2020

Registration Puppet for Windows Fast Track

Monday 09.03.2020 – Wednesday 11.03.2020

Monday 18.05.2020 – Wednesday 20.05.2020

Monday 20.07.2020 – Wednesday 22.07.2020

Monday 23.11.2020 – Wednesday 25.11.2020

Registration Puppet for Windows Extended

Description

For Windows administrators, the introduction to configuration management with Puppet is somewhat different than for Linux administrators. Shell commands and scripts are the means of choice under Linux from the beginning, under Windows it is only slowly establishing itself. In addition, the Puppet Community offers far fewer ready-made modules for Windows than for Linux, which are also tailored to very basic tasks. As a result, Windows administrators have to write significantly more puppet code themselves, but can access known Windows resources.

The training “Puppet for Windows” focuses on the basics of Puppet syntax, working methods (code development, versioning, automation) and module development strategies.

Objectives

Upon completion of the course, students will be able to develop Puppet modules for Windows and integrate Windows servers into a Puppet infrastructure.

Trainers

All Puppet for Windows trainings are conducted by experienced ATIX trainers. Our trainers have extensive experience with the orchestration of data centers in customer projects and are also active in the development community.

This post is also available in: German