Docker Alternatives

Docker has started a revolution with its easy access to Linux containers: Containerized applications, microservices, DevOps, GitOps, and Kubernetes are noticeably spreading. But then suddenly it says “Docker support in [kubernetes] is now deprecated and will be removed in a future release”.

What does this mean for you and your work with containers? With Kubernetes? For starters, the good news is that you don’t have to change much at all. This blog briefly outlines existing alternatives, categorizes them, and provides a brief example for developers. Those interested in more details should take a look at our Docker training.

What are the alternatives to Docker?

A Google search for Docker alternatives quickly yields an extensive list:

  • buildah
  • buildkit
  • by hand: skopeo, ostree, runc
  • containerd
  • cri-o
  • ftl
  • img
  • k3c
  • kaniko
  • (lxc)
  • (OpenVZ)
  • orca-build
  • packer
  • podman
  • pouch
  • (rkt)
  • source-to-image

Which alternative is suitable for what?

Those who have already dealt with the subject know that this is a motley mix. Some of the tools listed no longer correspond to the current technical status. In addition, cri-o, for example, serves a completely different target group than kaniko. Tools that do not play a role are in parentheses. rkt had launched the company CoreOS even before Red Hat bought it. It has since been discontinued as a project. Linux Containers (lxc) and OpenVZ also do not fit into this set. Both are aimed at operating system virtualization – as opposed to the Docker-type “application containers”.

Categorization

The Open Container Initiative (OCI) has been around since 2015. This project of the Linux Foundation provides specifications for images and runtimes. Images must therefore contain the files that the application in the container requires at runtime. The runtime must create containers from it. Previously, Docker served both requirements. Now we distinguish between tools that build images and those that make these images run as containers. The OCI standards ensure that, for example, image-build with kaniko and Kubernetes with cri-o are a valid combination.

Backend in Kubernetes

From the list, cri-o and containerd are good as container runtimes in the Kubernetes cluster. And only as that. Both provide an API that addresses Kubernetes via what is known as the container runtime interface (CRI). They can download images from registries and start and stop containers. Docker can do that and more – that’s why there’s an intermediate layer for Kubernetes: docker-shim. This effectively restricts the Docker API to what Kubernetes needs and customizes the API calls. This intermediate layer was previously a core component of Kubernetes. That it won’t be in the future is the statement of the opening quote from the Kubernetes release notes.

cri-o is a completely new implementation of the Runtime. It is named after the container runtime interface and the Open Container Initiative (cri + oci = cri-o). It equips containers with fewer of the so-called capabilities than Docker – permissions that the kernel assigns to processes, such as the right to modify file owners. Those who have made use of the extended capabilities Docker offers so far might run into problems here.

In this case, containerd might be a good choice. This is more or less the core of Docker, but somewhat stripped down. The direct path leads from Docker to here: containerd uses the same libraries as Docker and you can assume that nothing changes during operation.

In Build-Pipelines

The big innovation is that different tools are used for construction and operation. The OCI specification ensures that this works. But, how smoothly does it happen? At this point, once again: Docker will continue to exist and quite excellently continue to build container images. It keeps its bugs for the most part: It is a central daemon that is allowed quite a lot. In our training, we explain, among other things, how to set up a Docker-in-Docker “rootless” service. This allows developers to build container images in isolation from the infrastructure and fellow users.

My container projects are all in the form of Dockerfiles. I am following approaches that cannot deal with this in theory only so far. Please note: There is nothing wrong with taking an approach that does not use Dockerfiles, I just prefer a way without migration. In addition, most projects – including those of our customers – are in this form, which is, in a sense, a standard.

GitLab pipeline with different executors

The Dockerfile and all other necessary data are located in a Git repository. At ATIX, we use GitLab, which comes with a CI/CD pipeline. If you add a .gitlab-ci.yml to the repository, the image build and push will start automatically after each git push. This additional file contains the instructions on how to create an image from the repository. Participants of our training set this up themselves and work with it in order to get to know the described approaches in detail. Of course, the following can be applied to other systems. I would like to present two approaches here with examples: kaniko and buildah.

Cloud-native: kaniko

A modern approach is provided by kaniko, which fits naturally into pipelines that also run in a Kubernetes cluster. The following .gitlab-ci.yml builds an image from the Dockerfile and uploads it to GitLab’s built-in registry.

---
build:
  stage: build
  image:
    name: gcr.io/kaniko-project/executor:debug
    entrypoint: [""]
  script:
    - mkdir -p /kaniko/.docker
    - >
      echo "{"auths":{"$CI_REGISTRY":{
        "username":"$CI_REGISTRY_USER",
        "password":"$CI_REGISTRY_PASSWORD"}}}" > /kaniko/.docker/config.json
    - >
      /kaniko/executor
      ——context $CI_PROJECT_DIR
      ——dockerfile $CI_PROJECT_DIR/Dockerfile
      ——destination $CI_REGISTRY_IMAGE:latest
    - >
      /kaniko/executor
      ——context $CI_PROJECT_DIR
      ——dockerfile $CI_PROJECT_DIR/Dockerfile
      ——destination $CI_REGISTRY_IMAGE:$CI_COMMIT_REF_SLUG

All the magic takes place in the script section. First the code stores access data for the internal registry, then it builds and pushes first an image with the tag latest, then another one with the tag $CI_COMMIT_REF_SLUG. This is an automatically set variable that contains the branch name or tag in a URL-compliant version. This pipeline works with the Docker executor and requires no further configuration.

Straightforward: buildah

The second approach is familiar to anyone familiar with Docker. Again, a minimal example that could be in the same repository as in the case of kaniko:

build:
  stage: build
  image: my.registry:5000/image/mit/buildah:1.2
  tags:
    - docker
  before_script:
    - buildah login -u $CI_REGISTRY_USER -p $CI_REGISTRY_PASSWORD $CI_REGISTRY
  script:
    - buildah bud -t $CI_REGISTRY_IMAGE:latest .
    - buildah push $CI_REGISTRY_IMAGE:latest
    - buildah push $CI_REGISTRY_IMAGE:latest $CI_REGISTRY_IMAGE:$CI_COMMIT_REF_SLUG

The first script line uses the bud directive, short for build-using-dockerfile. This implies that there is an alternative way.

Just like Docker, buildah starts a process in its own namespace. In it, the RUN commands run in the Dockerfile. For it to be able to do this, it needs the appropriate privileges. For those using Docker executor, buildah requires containers to run privileged and commands to run as root.

Resume

On the laptop, I primarily continue to rely on Docker or more frequently switch to Buildah. Windows and Mac users can simply stick with Docker. Some of the tools mentioned also offer binaries or packages for non-Linux, but the switch is not mandatory.

What is working in the Kubernetes backend is then unimportant if you have adhered to the OCI specifications. Most distributors have already changed that anyway. OpenShift relies on cri-o, Rancher and SuSE have opted for containerd, but will also continue to maintain docker-shim.

I would definitely switch pipelines. My personal favorite is kaniko. The only downside is that you have to use the debug image, which is not the standard version – at least for GitLab And maybe that will change.

Links

The following two tabs change content below.

Jan Bundesmann

Latest posts by Jan Bundesmann (see all)

This post is also available in: German

Docker Alternativen

Docker hat mit seinem einfachen Zugang zu Linux-Containern eine Revolution angestoßen: Containerisierte Anwendungen, Microservices, DevOps, GitOps und Kubernetes breiten sich spürbar aus. Und dann heißt es plötzlich: “Docker support in [kubernetes] is now deprecated and will be removed in a future release”.

Was bedeutet das für die eigene Arbeit mit Containern? Mit Kubernetes? Die gute Nachricht vorneweg: Viel muss man gar nicht ändern. Dieser Beitrag skizziert kurz die vorhandenen Alternativen, kategorisiert sie und gibt ein kurzes Beispiel für Anwendungsentwickler. Wer Interesse an mehr Details hat, sollte einen Blick auf unser Docker-Training werfen.

Was gibt es für Alternativen zu Docker?

Eine Google-Suche nach Docker-Alternativen liefert schnell eine umfangreiche Liste:

  • buildah
  • buildkit
  • by hand: skopeo, ostree, runc
  • containerd
  • cri-o
  • ftl
  • img
  • k3c
  • kaniko
  • (lxc)
  • (OpenVZ)
  • orca-build
  • packer
  • podman
  • pouch
  • (rkt)
  • source-to-image

Wofür eignet sich welche Alternative?

Wer sich bereits mit dem Thema beschäftigt hat, weiß, dass das ein kunterbunter Mix ist. Einige der gelisteten Werkzeuge entsprechen nicht mehr dem gegenwärtigen technischen Stand. Außerdem bedient beispielsweise cri-o eine gänzlich andere Zielgruppe als kaniko. In Klammern gesetzt sind Tools, die keine Rolle spielen. rkt hatte die Firma CoreOS ins Leben gerufen, noch bevor Red Hat sie kaufte. Es ist als Projekt inzwischen eingestellt. Auch Linux Containers (lxc) und OpenVZ passen nicht in diese Zusammenstellung. Beide zielen auf Betriebssystemvirtualisierung ab – im Gegensatz zu den Docker-typischen “Anwendungscontainern”.

Kategorisierung

Seit 2015 gibt es die Open Container Initiative (OCI). Dieses Projekt der Linux Foundation stellt für Images und Runtimes Spezifikationen zur Verfügung. Images müssen demnach die Dateien enthalten, die die Anwendung im Container zur Laufzeit benötigt. Die Runtime muss daraus Container erstellen. Bisher bediente Docker beide Anforderungen. Jetzt unterscheiden wir zwischen Tools, die Images bauen, und solchen, die diese Images als Container zum Laufen bringen. Die OCI-Standards stellen sicher, dass beispielsweise Image-Bau mit kaniko und Kubernetes mit cri-o eine gültige Kombination sind.

Backend in Kubernetes

Aus der Liste taugen cri-o und containerd als Container-Runtime im Kubernetes-Cluster. Und zwar nur als das. Beide bieten eine API, die Kubernetes über das sogenannte Container-Runtime-Interface (CRI) anspricht. Sie können Images aus Registries herunterladen und Container starten und beenden. Docker kann das auch und darüber hinaus noch einiges mehr – deswegen gibt es eine Zwischenschicht für Kubernetes: docker-shim. Das schränkt die Docker-API quasi darauf ein, was Kubernetes braucht und passt die API-Aufrufe an. Diese Zwischenschicht war bisher Kernkomponente von Kubernetes. Dass es das künftig nicht mehr ist, ist die Aussage des Eingangszitats aus den Kubernetes-Release-Notes.

cri-o ist eine komplett neue Implementierung der Runtime. Namensgebend sind das Container-Runtime-Interface und die Open Container Initiative (cri + oci = cri-o). Es stattet Container mit weniger der sogenannten Capabilities aus als Docker – Berechtigungen, die der Kernel Prozessen zuweist, z.B. das Recht, Dateiinhaber zu verändern. Wer bisher Gebrauch von den erweiterten Capabilities macht, die Docker bietet, könnte hier auf Probleme stoßen.

In diesem Fall könnte sich containerd anbieten. Das ist quasi der Kern von Docker, allerdings etwas entschlackt. Der direkte Weg führt von Docker hierhin: containerd verwendet die gleichen Libraries wie Docker und man kann davon ausgehen, dass sich im Betrieb nichts verändert.

In Build-Pipelines

Die große Neuerung ist, dass für den Bau und den Betrieb verschiedene Tools zum Einsatz kommen. Dass das funktioniert, stellt die OCI-Spezifikation sicher. Aber, wie schmerzlos geschieht das? An dieser Stelle noch einmal: Docker wird es weiterhin geben und es kann ganz hervorragend weiterhin Container-Images bauen. Seine Fehler behält es größtenteils: Es ist ein zentraler Daemon, der ziemlich viel darf. In unserem Training erläutern wir unter anderem, wie wir einen Dienst Docker-in-Docker “rootless” aufsetzen. Dadurch könen Entwickler*innen isoliert von der Infrastruktur und den Mitbenutzer*innen Container-Images bauen.

Meine Container-Projekte liegen alle in Form von Dockerfiles vor. Ansätze, die damit nicht umgehen können, verfolge ich bisher nur theoretisch. Wohlgemerkt: Nichts spricht dagegen, einen Ansatz zu wählen, der auf Dockerfiles verzichtet, mir ist nur ein Weg ohne Migration lieber. Zudem liegen die meisten Projekte – auch bei unseren Kundinnen und Kunden – in dieser Form vor, das ist gewissermaßen ein Standard.

GitLab-Pipeline mit verschiedenen Executors

Das Dockerfile und alle weiteren nötigen Daten liegen in einem Git-Repository. Bei der ATIX verwenden wir GitLab, das gleich eine CI/CD-Pipeline mitbringt. Erweitert man das Repository um eine .gitlab-ci.yml, läuft der Image-Bau und -Push nach jedem git push automatisch an. In dieser zusätzlichen Datei stehen die Anweisungen, wie aus dem Repository ein Image entsteht. Teilnehmer*innen unseres Trainings setzen das selbst auf und arbeiten damit, um die geschilderten Ansätze im Detail kennenzulernen. Natürlich lässt sich das Folgende auf andere Systeme übertragen. Zwei Ansätze möchte ich hier mit Beispielen vorstellen: kaniko und buildah.

Cloud-native: kaniko

Einen modernen Ansatz liefert kaniko, das sich ganz natürlich in Pipelines einfügt, die auch in einem Kubernetes-Cluster laufen. Folgende .gitlab-ci.yml baut aus dem Dockerfile ein Image und lädt es in die in GitLab integrierte Registry hoch.

---
build:
  stage: build
  image:
    name: gcr.io/kaniko-project/executor:debug
    entrypoint: [""]
  script:
    - mkdir -p /kaniko/.docker
    - >
      echo "{\"auths\":{\"$CI_REGISTRY\":{
        \"username\":\"$CI_REGISTRY_USER\",
        \"password\":\"$CI_REGISTRY_PASSWORD\"}}}" > /kaniko/.docker/config.json
    - >
      /kaniko/executor
      ——context $CI_PROJECT_DIR
      ——dockerfile $CI_PROJECT_DIR/Dockerfile
      ——destination $CI_REGISTRY_IMAGE:latest
    - >
      /kaniko/executor
      ——context $CI_PROJECT_DIR
      ——dockerfile $CI_PROJECT_DIR/Dockerfile
      ——destination $CI_REGISTRY_IMAGE:$CI_COMMIT_REF_SLUG

Die ganze Magie findet im Abschnitt script statt. Zuerst hinterlegt der Code Zugangsdaten für die interne Registry, dann baut und pusht er erst ein Image mit dem Tag latest, anschließend noch eines mit dem Tag $CI_COMMIT_REF_SLUG. Das ist eine automatisch gesetzte Variable, die den Branchnamen oder Tag in einer URL-konformen Version enthält. Diese Pipeline funktioniert mit dem Docker-Executor und erfordert keine weitere Konfiguration.

Geradlinig: buildah

Der zweite Ansatz ist allen vertraut, die sich mit Docker auskennen. Auch hier wieder ein Minimalbeispiel, das im gleichen Repository wie im Fall von kaniko liegen könnte:

build:
  stage: build
  image: my.registry:5000/image/mit/buildah:1.2
  tags:
    - docker
  before_script:
    - buildah login -u $CI_REGISTRY_USER -p $CI_REGISTRY_PASSWORD $CI_REGISTRY
  script:
    - buildah bud -t $CI_REGISTRY_IMAGE:latest .
    - buildah push $CI_REGISTRY_IMAGE:latest
    - buildah push $CI_REGISTRY_IMAGE:latest $CI_REGISTRY_IMAGE:$CI_COMMIT_REF_SLUG

Die erste script-Zeile verwendet die Direktive bud, kurz für build-using-dockerfile. Das impliziert, dass es einen alternativen Weg gibt.

Genau wie Docker startet buildah einen Prozess in einem eigenen Namespace. Darin laufen die Kommandos der RUNs im Dockerfile. Damit er das auch kann, braucht er die passenden Privilegien. Wer den Docker-Executor nutzt, muss für buildah die Container privilegiert laufen lassen und die Kommandos müssen als Root laufen.

Fazit

Auf dem Laptop setze ich primär weiterhin auf Docker oder weiche immer häufiger auf Buildah aus. Windows- und Mac-Nutzer können einfach bei Docker bleiben. Manche der genannten Tools bieten auch Binaries oder Pakete für Nicht-Linuxe an, aber der Umstieg ist nicht zwingend.

Was im Kubernetes-Backend werkelt, ist dann unwichtig, wenn man sich an die OCI-Spezifikationen gehalten hat. Die meisten Distributoren haben das ohnehin schon umgestellt. OpenShift setzt auf cri-o, bei Rancher bzw. SuSE hat man sich für containerd entschieden, wird aber auch docker-shim weiter pflegen.

Pipelines würde ich auf jeden Fall umstellen. Mein Favorit ist kaniko. Da ist der einzige Wermutstropfen, dass man auf das debug-Image zurückgreifen muss, also nicht die Standardausführung – zumindest für GitLab. Vielleicht ändert sich das noch.

Links

The following two tabs change content below.
Jan Bundesmann

Jan Bundesmann

Jan Bundesmann

Neueste Artikel von Jan Bundesmann (alle ansehen)

This post is also available in: English